‘SPACE & PRODUCTION’ of Leather in Dharavi

In the midst of continued spatial constraints and the high demand for land, the transformation of Dharavi is an unavoidable phenomenon. The relevance of the change in the lives of its residents and their ability to cope and adapt to the opening up of Dharavi into the existing complex urban fabric of Mumbai is important in this scenario. This much needed permeability has to come from within Dharavi ; emphasizing the unique dynamism of the locale, its strengths and underlying potential.

This realisation focuses my work on the redevelopment of the most thriving, culturally rooted and contextually relevant Leather Industry. The area of study will concentrate on ‘Chamra Bazaar’ ( ‘leather market’ in Hindi) which has been inhabited by the ‘chamakar’ community for many decades.

My attempt here is to unpack the various complexities involved in the relationships and networks of the Leather Industry and the relevance of the system on etching Dharavi/Mumbai on the map of a dynamic process.

Through the understanding of this rather unique relationship, a schematic reallocation of certain phases in terms of location and space is proposed. The process aims to formulate also a set of guidelines from which development frameworks for this traditional industry can be made emphasizing the cultural and contextual importance and without disturbing the redevelopment of the locale or the ecological balance.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘SPACE & PRODUCTION’ of Leather in Dharavi

  1. Riddhima Khedkar says:

    i am an architecture studying in Rachna Sansad’s Academy of Architecture 4th year. i am working on Leather Industry, Dharavi for my 5th year thesis project. i was wondering if you could help me with my thesis.
    -Riddhma Khedkar

    • Umberto says:

      Hi Riddhima,
      I’m an italian student in Architecture, I’m carrying on my tesis for
      my master degree focused on how a low cost building tecnique based on
      self construction and material closed circle loop could help
      developing countries facing the massive population growth.
      My case of study is the Dharavi too, contact me if you want so we could exchange our knowledges, my email is umbertovallini@gmail.com.
      Let’s keep in touch!

      Umberto

Leave a comment